Public Safety Commission



  • Paul Pitalis, Chairman
  • Mark Penning, Vice Chairman
  • Marcie Claus
  • Cornell Collins
  • Scott Ford
  • Frank Ippolito
  • Paul Kruszynski
  • Mitchell S. Kushner
  • Ibrahim Mansuri
  • Kenneth Mantel
  • Linda Perlin
  • Dennis Rizo
  • Howard Rosenburg
  • Jeff Schvimer
  • Bryant Smith
  • Melissa Villegas
  • Leslie Post-Weissinger

Trustee Liaisons

  • Alison Pure Slovin
  • Edie Sue Sutker

Staff Liaisons

  • Samantha Maximillian
  • Max Slankard
  • Russ Rietveld

Fire Department Representatives

  • Fire Chief Jeffrey Hoeflich
  • Deputy Chief Nicholas Eschner
  • Deputy Chief Stephen Jagman

Police Department Representatives

  • Chief Brian Baker
  • Deputy Chief Jesse Barnes
The Public Safety Commission is made up of 20 members who each serve for two years.

Public Safety Commission Vacancies: 3
Interested in serving on one of the Village's advisory boards or commissions?
Online, Interactive Board Member Application


The Public Safety Commission is responsible for making recommendations to the Village Board regarding the improvement of general conditions of public safety in the community. The Commission promotes a safer environment by carrying on educational activities in safety matters, and improving general safety of vehicular and pedestrian traffic in the community. The Commission organizes an annual Community Bicycle Safety Fair in conjunction with the Skokie Backlot Bash every August.

Public Safety Awareness Campaign

Read the April 2015 Many Cultures, One Community - Keeping Skokie Safe public safety recommendation to the Village Board.
Read the 2018 Many Cultures, One Community - Keeping Skokie Safe program summary.