Board of Health


The Board of Health advises the Mayor and Board of Trustees about public health needs and concerns. They recommend specific environmental improvements and provide consultation about current problems. Committees are created as needed to propose actions on important issues. In partnership with community organizations, this Board sponsors blood drives throughout the year.


Second Thursday of every month at 7 p.m. (except July and August)
View Village meetings calendar

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes 


Edward Linn, MD, Chair
Swapna Dave, MPH, MBBS
Bruce Gaynes, OD, Pharm D
Michael Gottesman, PhD
Juliet Haido, BSN, RN
Maureen Hanlon, RN
Margaret Keeler, MHR, MMS
Girija Kalyan Kumar, MD
Heidi Nickisch Duggan, MS, MA
Rohit Pandya, RPH
Jan Shiffman
Kyungran Shim, MD
Romil Sood, DPT, MSM
Patricia Urbanus, MSN, CNM
Irtaza Usman, PGDMM
Ruth Varma, RN
William Werner, MD
Larry Nolan Williams, Jr., DDS, MPH
Sibyl Yau, RN, MSN, Vice Chair

James Johnson, Trustee 
Keith Robinson, Trustee
Michael Charley, Director, MP, LEHP

The Board of Health is made up of 20 members with each member serving four years.

Board of Health Vacancies: 1

Interested in serving on one of the Village's advisory boards or commissions?

Online, Interactive Board Member Application

Environmental Sustainability Plan

The Skokie Environmental Sustainability Plan approved by the Sustainable Environmental Advisory Commission and the Skokie Board of Health, and presented to the Board of Trustees in August 2016.